Kerr’s Double Ensures Three Points For The 2nds

A Conail Kerr double and Conaill McGrady goal sealed all three points for the seconds as they held on against Kirkistown, click on the link to read more…

Saturday 14th March – NADAFL Division 1

Downpatrick FC 3 v Kirkistown 2

Downpatrick played Kirkistown at Killyleagh in the league and came away with all three points in their pursuit of finishing in the top two. Downpatrick started well and after 8 minutes the ball broke from mid field with a pass from Adrian McCoubrey which found Conaill McGrady. McGrady still had a lot to do, he took on 2 defenders and finished the move well with a side foot finish into the bottom corner to make it 1-0 to Downpatrick.

Downpatrick were now enjoying the lion’s share of possession and McGrady and McCoubrey were controlling the game in midfield. Then on 28 minutes Conail Kerr collected an interception from left back Gary Trueman, Kerr broke down right hand side before cutting inside and from edge of the box stuck a great shot into the top right hand corner to make double Downpatrick’s advantage.

Half Time: Downpatrick FC 2 v Kirkistown 0

Ten minutes into the second half Downpatrick scored their third, David Telford passed the ball forward to McGrady, he set of on one if his trademark runs beating the left back with ease before sending over an inviting cross for Conail Kerr to tap in his second goal of the game. Two minutes after going three goals up Downpatrick were reduced to 10 men when midfielder Neil Young got sent off for an off the ball incident.

Kirkiston sensed an opportunity to get themselves back into the game with thirty minutes remaining and started to apply all the pressure and scored 2 goals within 10 minutes to make it 3-2. The final 15 minutes Downpatrick were under a serious amount of pressure but the defence of Telford, Trueman and Barry Fitzsimons held out to secure a win for their side.
Downpatrick: 1) R Hagan 2) D Telford 3) G Trueman 4) B Fitzsimmons 5) N Young 6) A McCoubrey 7) C McGrady 8) C Kerr 9) C Djalo 10) S McMahon 11) C McCarron 12) P Kerr 14) B Ford 15) C McGrady .