Seconds Suffer Defeat At The Hands Of The League Leaders

Downpatrick seconds suffered defeat to the league leaders for the second time in three weeks, read below to find out more…

Saturday 6th December – NADAFL Division 1

Ballynahinch Olympic 2nds 2 v Downpatrick FC 2nds 0

For the second time in a few weeks Downpatrick seconds fell to defeat at the hands of the league leaders. Downpatrick started the game well and in the opening fifteen minutes they were the better side but failed to create any chances of note until Neil Young and John Glennon combined to set up winger David Telford but his shot was well saved by the Olympic keeper.

With 10 minutes remaining before half time Downpatrick conceded their first goal of the game. Ballynahinch won the ball in midfield, their midfielder ran at the Downpatrick defence before unleashing a shot from about 20 yards which the Downpatrick goal keeper Robbie Hagan managed to push onto the post but the ball fell to the waiting Olympic striker to tap into the net.

Half Time: Ballynahinch Olympic 2nds 1 v Downpatrick FC 0

Five minutes into the second half Downpatrick were thrown a lifeline when striker Sean McMahon was upended in the 18 yard box and the referee had no option but to point to the penalty spot. McMahon dusted himself down and placed the ball on the spot but his penalty kick was well saved by the Ballynahinch keeper.

Downpatrick kept pushing to try and get an equaliser but Olympic were happy to sit back and absorb all the pressure thrown at them. On the hour mark Ballynahinch broke up a Downpatrick attack and quickly counter attacked and double their advantage with a well taken goal.

Downpatrick had one final chance to get back into the game with a few minutes remaining, Conaill Kerr was fouled on the edge of the box. McMahon took the free kick which seemed destined to hit the back of the net until a Downpatrick player got in the way of the ball and the chance was gone.

Downpatrick: 1) R Hagan 2) C Curran 3) C Kerr 4) P O’Reilly 5) C MacNabb 6) N Young 7) P Kerr 8) J Glennon 9) C Curran 10) S McMahon 11) D Telford 12) A Murphy 14) S Hughes 15) P Donnelly